What are common red flags in fake pickelhaubes

WT123

Hello I am new to collecting and I came across a pickelhaubes in a shop, I did not buy it because I lacked the funds at the time, however I want to know common signs of a pickelhaube being fake for next time I find one.

I am new to this I am studying history in my senior years in highschool I would love just general info of both reproductions and Frankenstein (pieced together pickelhaubes)

A good indication of fake helmets is a lack of detail in the metal work especially on the wappens (front plates), and the leather and liners will look brand new and often times the liners will look puffy compared to work 100+ year old helmets. I honestly have yet to see a fake helmet that looks even remotely good. As far as pieced together helmets you will need to learn the details of the individual helmet specifications such as the differences between officers, one year volunteers, NCOs and enlisted men. Do you happen to have photos of the helmet you saw in the shop? Or any idea as to what kind it is?

Unfortunately I did not get a picture however I suspect it was a Frankenstein because the side posts were different colors one was white and one was red, I have the owners phone number I will ask for some pictures Tomorrow

Unfortunately I did not get a picture however I suspect it was a Frankenstein because the side posts were different colors one was white and one was red, I have the owners phone number I will ask for some pictures Tomorrow
It sounds like someone painted it. The chinstrap lugs are typically either brass for M95 helmets, Grey for M15 helmets or silver for certain units that had silver fittings.

Hi, best way to learn is post pictures and ask questions here before you buy.